An Explanation….

I had a request from Carolina Cannonball about how I managed to cook breakfast for not one, but two famous people (when I am decidedly NOT famous myself).  So here’s the way it happened:

My first duty station in the Army was Fort Ord, California….at the time that Mr. Eastwood was mayor of Carmel-by-the-Sea.  One of the things that our unit’s cooks did (yes, I confess, I was a ‘spoon’) was do the cooking for the annual Kiwanis Club’s Pancake Breakfast in Monterey.  Mr. Eastwood was, of course, one of the honored guests.  I happened to be running the grill at the time he came through the line for his breakfast.  I did get to shake his hand and tell him I am a fan.

We cooks also had the responsibility for cooking and serving breakfast to visiting VIPs at Fort Ord.  A few months after the Mr. Eastwood incident (that sounds rather like a Robert Ludlum title, doesn’t it?), Mr. Clancy was the guest of the then-post commander, BG William Harrison.  I happened to get the luck of the draw to be the ‘waitress’ who actually went out to the dining room of the VIP quarters with the plates of food, filled coffee cups, etc.  On my second pass through the room with the pot, Mr. Clancy invited me and my fellow cook to come out and have a cup with him, his publicist, BG Harrison and the general’s aide.  (Mr. Clancy was in the process of researching his book “The Sum of All Fears”, some of the characters in which are based on real people whom I knew at Fort Ord).

I also was once at a stop light in Monterey next to Doris Day, and I have eaten at Mr. Eastwood’s restaurant in Carmel, the  Hog’s Breath Inn.

So there you have it.

Comments are closed.