Appropriate Attire for Church?

Recently I glimpsed an altar boy prior to his vesting for Divine Liturgy……he wore a t-shirt with a reference to the children’s game of “Rock, Paper, Scissors”except the ‘scissors’ part was replaced with reference to a bodily function – the one experienced when a person consumes too many beans.  Definitely comes under the category ‘not appropriate for church’, as do tank tops, spaghetti straps, miniskirts, shorts, and for the checs, any sort of clothing with writing or pictures/logos (Izod is OK, Nike is not).  I used to make the boychecs wear shirts with collars to Divine Liturgy, but the whining and weeping and wailing was awful to hear so now they just have to be plain shirts.  I wish I could say that I always wear a skirt or dress to church but several weeks during the Great Fast I wound up at Presanctified Liturgy in jeans because of the mad scramble to get out the door left me no time to change my clothes.  Same for covering my head in church – although I have begun crocheting some snoods and bun covers which do the trick, satisfy my nagging thought that I ought to show more respect for Him than I do, and don’t make me look like either a Mennonite/Amish or a nun in civvies.

In completely unrelated news, the checs and I have adopted a dog (would she be the pec – pet of Eastern Catholic – or the dec – dog of Eastern Catholic?).  Her name is now Mercy Clare, she is a 4 year old Boxer/Shepherd mix rescued from the pound.  She has her very own opinions about whom she likes and dislikes, and absolutely despises our postal carrier.  she was abused in her former life but is blossoming as a member of our family.

One response to “Appropriate Attire for Church?

  1. Good to see you posting again – I know you’ve been busy!! Would Mercy more appropriately be a “dec”…since the hermit (monastic?) crabs are “pecs” ?? How are those crabbies doing, anyhow ?? I suppose I’m a “frec”…friend of Eastern Catholics…though I am one meself! :o) Lest we forget, we’re also both “hecs”…yes, that would be homeschooling ECs!! Ok, I’ll stop now…