Mea culpa, mea culpa,

mea maxima culpa.  I certainly did not intend to some across as superior and arrogant about Eastern Church tradition, although it may have seemed that way.  I sincerely apologize if I have offended anyone.

It will never cease to amaze me, however, how Roman Catholics who are blessed with reverent and orthodox priests, rubrically correct Masses (under either form, NO or Tridentine), and modestly attired and attentively reverent parishioners with whom to worship, can seem so taken aback by reports ‘from the field’ about liturgical dancers, Zen-friendly spirituality being preached from the pulpit, icky modern-art Stations of the Cross (where they exist at all), and parishes where the focus is on community rather than Communion.  I know there parishes and dioceses exist (the good ones) – I’ve been to Masses in them and know people who have nothing but good things to say about their priest and Bishop.  But I also know the state of affairs in the Latin diocese where I live.  It’s one reason I was able to so easily hear my call to move East.  And I readily admit that perhaps in some other Easter parishes some strange things may have gone on, and could still be going on, for all I know.

The fact is, the Latin Church is in a real mess, truly, and we all ought to be praying for the Holy Father as he does what he has discerned to be the Will of God to move the Western lung of the Catholic Church back to where it is truly “One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic.”

‘Nuff said.

Comments are closed.