It’s Official!

I just received an email letting me know that I’m officially added to the Catholic Stitchers webring. Joanne, I understand perfectly what you mean about the beauty and transcendence of the Tridentine Mass….but once I discovered the wonder that is the Divine Liturgy, and happened to realize that the Eastern Rite is part of my liturgical heritage, I could do nothing but turn to the East. I love the Mass according to the 1962 Missal, but as I’ve said several times before, the Eastern Liturgy and its spirituality are as comfortable to me as a favorite old sweater. I used to wonder why I often had this strange feeling at Mass of ‘well, look at me, here I am at Mass, isn’t this neato’ and a sense of being on the outside looking in, so to speak. I wasn’t in the right Rite! From the very first time I attended the Divine Liturgy, I found myself caught up in the chant, the incense, the warm colors of the icons….and felt as if I had finally come home after a very long and convoluted journey. And what a long, strange trip it was, too, but that’s another story!

2 responses to “It’s Official!

  1. No matter how long & strange our trips have been…& we cradle Catholics have sometimes trekked convoluted journeys as well…it is wonderful to be HOME.

  2. Not sure if you knew, but I’m a Tridentine lover as well. In fact, I found so few lovers of the Latin, I married my childhood altar boy. Glad to see there are other strong Catholics out there.