Another anniversary

has come and gone without any fanfare whatsoever.  As of December 21st, we’ve been homeschooling for an entire year.  Lots of progress has been made in many ways, but we’ve still got a long way to go.  I wonder if there is any way to teach the checs to be happy in their own company….they always seem to have to be playing to same thing at the same time, which creates bickering and unrest.  That’s not to say that my reason for homeschooling was to try to eliminate the bickering, far from it.  I just cannot for the life of me understand why they seem to take such pleasure in being so unrepentantly vicious to each other. (And, for that matter, why none of my homeschooling friends seem to have the same issue with their children…..is there something wrong with me? with my kids?)

I have discovered that girlchec CAN do work at grade level, she doesn’t much care to, unless there is an immediately obvious practical application.  For example, adding and subtracting make her eyes glaze over like some fakir’s charmed snake; perimeters and weights & measures mean every answer’s going to be correct the first time around.

Older boychec is dismally incapable of (a) self-starting anything and (b) managing time to complete a task within the time allotted.  Now,  I’ll be the first to admit that at times my motto is “if it weren’t for the last minute, nothing would ever be accomplished” but for the most part I do a pretty good job of spacing things out over the course of however much time I have.  And leaving things unfinished doesn’t seem to bother him, either.

Younger boychec continues to be impossible to challenge.  He refuses work that is beneath his ability (which is rather advanced); but he also refuses to do work that is a bit challenging.  I am continually stressing about finding the right balance between easy and difficult.

We do have a routine, and as long as I play drill sergeant, things go rather well.  It’s only when they are left to their own devices that things get hairy.  One of my constant prayers is that they will develop the ability to amuse themselves without (a) pestering a sibling to the point of injury or tears; (b) requiring repeated supervisory visits from The Mom; and/or (c) finding it necessary to do forbidden things.

I just love them the best way I know how, pray for them and with them at every opportunity, and commend them to God each night before I close my eyes in sleep.  He knows best, after all.

One response to “Another anniversary

  1. First…Happy Homeschool Anniversary! Second, we have plenty o’ bickering in our homeschool as well. And last, but most certainly not least…loving them, praying for them, & commending them to God & the Theotokos is the best thing you can do for those precious souls under your care!