This is a sleepy town!?

Anyone watch CBS’ 48 Hours Mystery on Saturday night?  The story was about the woman in Morgantown who was charged, and subsequently convicted, of poisoning her husband with an injection of a paralyzing drug and then setting their home ablaze in an alleged attempt to conceal the evidence.

It was fascinating to me, as I don’t get the newspaper regularly, and I missed many of the front-page articles as the investigation continued, and then the trial (which was moved to Charleston due to all the publicity).  I do remember hearing on the radio that the woman had been convicted on both counts – Murder in the First Degree and Arson in the First Degree.

I laughed out loud when I watched the ‘backstory’ clips of Morgantown on the show – no traffic jams, no WVU students jaywalking downtown, no cars double-parked on High Street.  The narrator characterized Morgantown as a ‘sleepy, small town’.  Little does he know.  He had to have visited when WVU was on a break of some sort.  Morgantown does have only about 27,000 permanent residents.  However, there are close to 30,000 students at WVU, so what do you think that does to the traffic, parking, etc. when college is in session?  Can you say gridlock?  And the fact that the campus is spread out through the entire city limits (and beyond) means that the issues aren’t confined to just the neighborhoods ‘close to campus.’  Everywhere in Morgantown fits that description.

It was pretty neat to see my home town like that though…..through someone else’s eyes.  And I was tickled to see that Ms Michael’s defense attorney was someone with whom I went to high school (he’s class of ’80; I’m class of ’81).

I live about 5 miles from the newest shopping center in town – University Towne Center – actually located in Granville.  There is a Giant Eagle grocery store with gas station, a Wal-Mart, Sam’s Club, Target, TJ Maxx and so forth.  When WVU is on break I can get there on a weekday afternoon in about 15 minutes.  During the normal semesters it has taken me as long as 45 minutes to travel that same 5 miles.  Sleepy?  Hardly.  Sleep-inducing to be stuck in traffic?  Definitely.

Comments are closed.