Feeling nostalgic?

Nostalgophile that I am, when I came across this poem this morning, I read it, enjoyed, and decided to share it with you.  Hope you enjoy it.

Apropos of nothing in particular, ever wondered about the word ‘nostalgia’?  What exactly does it mean, anyhow?  Let’s see…..the suffix  -algia means something like pain or discomfort, as in the word neuralgia (nerve pain).  And nost- seems to relate to the Latin ‘noster’ which is, of course, the possessive pronoun “our”.

So is nostalgia “our pain”?  Is that why sometimes you get a bit of a lump in the throat when remembering things that were, or might have been?

Disclaimer: no dictionaries were opened or harmed in any way during the composition of this post.  If I’m off base, I did it all on my own with no help from Webster, or Oxford, or even Lewis & Short!

Comments are closed.