Fun Monday

Ann, over at For the Long Run, wants to hear about a website that has changed my life – one that has really made a difference to me.  There are lots of those, but I’d have to say that my top two picks are the Google search engine and Amazon.

I’m a homeschooling mom and my kids ask questions all day, every day.  when they stump me, I just turn to my handy-dandy Google box and type in what I want to know.  Like the Wizard of Oz, I always get an answer and it’s usually just what I need.  Likewise, when I want to know stuff about what’s different in the Byzantine Catholic Church as opposed to the Roman Catholic, just type it in the box and voila!  Recipe for fudge that uses Velveeta cheese?  It’s in there.  Pea salad with Velveeta and mayo?  That too.  It’s the Ragu of search engines.

Amazon……I could have a wish list over there that is a million items long.  I’ve found books on Amazon that I read as a child, and now can introduce them to my checs – especially those wonderful Marguerite Henry horse novelettes that girlchec is devouring now!

I don’t necessarily visit Amazon every day, but I’d hazard a guess that Google gets my business several times a day, every day.

17 responses to “Fun Monday

  1. Fudge with Velveeta cheese…?? Hmmm…?? I’ve heard of a chocolate cake made with mayo…haven’t tried it, though…

  2. Two excellent sites and both I use quite often!

  3. I love google. One of my favorite things to do is type recipe and then a list of the stuff I have on hand and it will, more often than not, find me an edible recipe.

    I have made the velveeta fudge but prefer the marshmallow whip kind!

    Terrific post.

  4. Great post – thanks for participating. And for reminding me of Marguerite Henry. Misty of Chincoteque (sp?) was my favourite book when I was a kid.

  5. Google and Amazon are two of the absolute best – I’m not sure my life would be the same without either one! Great choices – and many more on Fun Monday seem to agree with you!

  6. I Google everything also!! I LOVE the free shipping at Amazon. You can’t go wrong!! Great post.

  7. those two are on my everyday list too!

  8. we visit those on an almost daily basis, also!

  9. Love both of them sites! I’m like you, gotta have Google for my inquiring minds.

  10. I agree with you on those two sites–I use them continually. A third pick for me would be Ebay –it is also something I have been using more and more for finding hard to find items for a good price.

  11. I love, love, love Amazon!! I am right with you on both!!

  12. There’s been alot of people who religiously use Amazon. I love that site, too. But I curb my shopping to special occasions. I do think Google is much better than Yahoo, or any other search engine.

  13. I still don’t know why I DIDN’T say google. It’s my home page and I’m sure the one I visit most.

  14. Where would we be without google~ this is a popular choice today !

  15. Google is the bestest!

  16. Great minds DO think alike :). Google’s a popular choice because we ALL love it to pieces!

    Wish I had thought of it!

  17. Pingback: Connecting News, Commentaries and Blogs at NineReports.com -