Ta-Daa!

I have finished the vestments and altar cloths for my parish!

Some basic information – the fabric is silk and rayon brocade (silk face, rayon backing). The fringe, galloon and crosses are real metal thread from Russia – I now have a collection of boxes with postage from other countries, as at about the same time I got these things, I purchased something on eBay that came from Belgium. I basically copied a set of vestments at my parish, with some help from Fr. Golini’s “Making Byzantine Vestments” which I purchased from Light & Life Publishing.

So, without further ado, here are Pentecost vestments for St. Mary’s Holy Protection Byzantine Catholic Church:

Vestments1

Vestments 2

Vestments 3

Vestments 4

Vestments 5

Thank you, Lord, for your strength and guidance in my work. You are the fulfillment of all good things. Fill also my soul with joy and gladness, that I may praise you always. Amen.

(Prayer from the prayerbook “Beneath the Mantle of Your Mercy”, printed by Basilian Press, Toronto).

6 responses to “Ta-Daa!

  1. BEAUTIFUL work! Your sewing is a prayer! If St. John Chrysostom is the “golden-tongued” one…how shall we properly name you the “golden-fingered” one?? God has gifted your hands & surely blessed you with great skill!

  2. You know I am very impressed with your skills of creating the vestments. I am not sure how long it took but I can imagine longer than my patience would allow. I have enough trouble washing clothes, much less making them.
    I was also reading down a bit – your birthday is the same as my son Poot’s – Dec 20th. He was born at 14:13 – and it was snowing when we brought him home. have a good week! NLM

  3. My gosh, you do beautiful work! Those vestments are gorgeous and will be a blessing to your priest and to your parish!

  4. May God be praised for giving you this talent and for granting you the grace to use it well. We are so pleased with the vestments you made for the Confraternity of Penitents. Thank you so much! We are so blessed in them!

  5. Beautifully done!

  6. Wonderful — beautiful work. If I may ask, where do you get your fabric?