Fun Monday – Theme Song

This week’s hostess, the Crown Princess, has what I think is an uber-neato name for her blog. And this week’s assignment is neat-o as well. She wants to know what ONE song most describes us, our theme song, if you will.

I had to take a poll to figure this one out. The checs voted for The Four Seasons’ “Oh What a Night” since that song mentions in a vague way my birthday, and the chorus of Uncle Kracker’s “Follow Me”…..so I asked my mom (when all else fails, go ask mom). Without hesitation she came right back at me with something that really fit. Something that, the more I think about it, the more I realize she’s really got me pegged.

Scott Joplin’s “The Entertainer.” (Here you can see a video of a guy playing it on the piano).

Other songs I briefly considered, not necessarily in any order, are: Billy Joel’s “She’s Always a Woman”, Mike & the Mechanics’ “The Living Years”, Kool & the Gang’s “Celebration” (this was our senior class theme song from high school), the arrangement of “Lord of the Dance” from Michael Flatley’s Irish Dance spectacular, and the following hymns: “Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us”, “Jesus Makes My Heart Rejoice”, “Come Now to Us, O Christ”, and “Give Me Your Body, O Christ”. Oh, and I forget who sang this, but there’s one more…..”The Hand That Rocks the Cradle (Rules the World)”.

Having been entertained by my entry, off you go to see what others have listed! Have a wonderful week!

22 responses to “Fun Monday – Theme Song

  1. The entertainer is a lovely piece so a good choice.

  2. Wow, you have lots of songs that fit you! Great choices.

  3. i also considered she’s always a woman.

  4. How marvelous and upbeat! I’m guessing you are fun to have around…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/02/10/fun-monday-music/

  5. Say “The Entertainer” is used on “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid”. Very cool song.

  6. Isn’t it funny that, although our families and friends may know us, our moms nail it every time? Great choice.

  7. I love Billy Joel, and “Always a Woman” is a great song. I love “In the Living Years” too.

  8. Now that was a snappy song!

  9. Dance, dance wherever you may be. I am the Lord of the Dance said He. I will raise you up where ever you may be, I am the Lord of the dance said He.

    That was my favorite song to sing in church as a kid. You chose some awesome songs!

  10. “The Living Years” is a wonderful song, and “Celebrate” was one I thought about, too.

    THIS is a GREAT song–it’s a classic (and proves, you don’t have to have words to convey meaning).

    Your mom did good ;).

  11. anglophilefootballfanatic

    I love the list. Living Years, Celebration, Michael Flatley!! Yay for that almost inclusion.

    I love that you used a Scott Joplin! LOVE it. And, I dig the song.

  12. How ironic, I also toyed around with several songs- and Oh What A Night was one of my top three!

  13. I LOVE Joplin!!! Thank you thank you thank you!!!

    all the best-
    Patience

  14. The Entertainer is good choice. It is nice to know that good music lasts for years.

  15. This song makes me want to put on a flapper dress!

  16. All good songs. “She’s always a woman” is on my Ipod…great song.

  17. great choices…a nice varied list!! I like that!!

  18. Anything by Billy Joel is great and I like all of Scott Joplin’s song. I used to be able to play “Maple Leaf Rag”. Boy that was a long time ago!

  19. Everyone knows Joplin as the king of ragtime, but his first love was classical. I have included a website link for those more interested: http://www.classical.net/music/comp.lst/joplin.html
    Your selection reminds me of mine as I was growing up. Funny how music influences us in different ways. NLM

  20. This week’s challenge was so difficult, wasn’t it? I think you came up with a great list of contenders and your final choice is perfect!

  21. Personally…I’ll always think of you when I hear, “Oh +Jesus+, Lover of Mankind, have mercy on us!”

  22. Great list! I love THe Entertainer.