And here I thought I was cheap and lazy!

A couple of days ago my mom told me about a segment on “Good Morning America” about the increasing incidence of Vitamin D deficiency and rickets in kids…..seems that the constant use of sunblock, and in some cases the adoption of vegan and other dairy-deficient diets has caused a rise in these things over the past few years.  You can read the story here.

The story mentions that breast-fed babies ought to perhaps have Vitamin D supplements and I don’t quite agree with that – especially if the baby in question gets exposed regularly to natural light.

I’m one of those people who thinks that the increased amounts of allergies – to stuff we as children were never allergic to – is partly due to the presence of phenomenal amounts of additives and artificial ingredients in food.  (Latex allergy, anyone?)  Until about 10 years ago, I didn’t know anyone who was allergic to latex, and now it’s so widespread that you think you’re in the minority if you don’t have a sensitivity to latex.  As a consequence of my motherly opinion and hunch, I try to feed my kids only “real” food, that is, foods with as little artificial ingredients as possible.  I don’t watch their intake of fat, since an a diet short on fats in childhood can affect nerve development (nerves are insulated by fat).  And I’ve never been one to slather my kids with sunblock every time they go near the door to go outside.  In fact, a couple of years ago older boychec was getting ready to go to a week-long day camp for which he needed sunscreen, and we went to 6 different stores to find something less than SPF 15.  And the bottle is still half full.  It’s not that I forget, it’s just that my kids don’t have a tendency to burn so it’s never been high on my list of priorities to keep them from getting a suntan.

Same with bug repellent…..a few years ago it was all about DEET, now DEET is bad and no one should put it on their kids.  Well, I found something that works and although it has DEET, we use so little of it I’m not worried.

Ergo, the title of this post.  I thought I was cheap, not being motivated to spend a large chunk of my not-so-disposable income on gallons and gallons of industrial-strength sunblock and DEET-free bug repellent – and lazy because I don’t make sure they’re covered head to toe in either clothing or one of the above products when they go outside.  Turns out I was just listening to my instincts.

I also heard on the radio news the other day about more beneficial antioxidants being found in red wine.  Now, I am NOT going to begin feeding the checs wine with dinner, but more and more I see that the French and other European countries have a good thing going with their use of butter, olive oil, and red wine.  Real foods.

I feel a bit vindicated, actually.  Maybe I’m not so bad after all!

4 responses to “And here I thought I was cheap and lazy!

  1. I agree. Real food for real people! Kids low on vitamin D? Toss out the TV & video games & shoo them outside for the afternoon!

  2. I agree. I try to choose foods with as few additives/preservatives as possible. Real foods, whole foods fill us up and we eat fewer snacks.

  3. Prevalence of latex allergy is only about 1% of the general population, and not as widespread as some like to think. It is certainly less prevalent that many food allergies, such as peanut allergy!

  4. Good post! Part of our reason for moving out to the country was to get our kids out of the house and roaming the outdoors free of constant adult supervision. Another was to raise our own food. We raise our own beef, pork and eggs, have a cow for our dairy products and I’m starting to do more gardening. We also use as many herbal and homeopathic remedies as we can, along with old fashioned administration of cod liver oil (they make flavored ones these days!)

    We use low- fat nothing (ever notice how many unpronounceable things are in low-fat products?), and my cholesterol is 146. Proof that dietary cholesterol and blood cholesterol have little to do with one another.

    God bless!